Brad, who’s brad?

A while back I went into the scrapbooking store, thinking there wasn’t any trouble that I could get into in there. Wrong. Back in the corner, I found the eyelets and the brads. I bought a few eyelets, but right now I’m not thinking they’re going to be much fun, but the brads are another story altogether. I’ve had them floating around in my stash for a few months, but today I finally found a reason to drag them out. I’ve been working on a little pouch style purse for my daughter (I won’t say how long I’ve been working on it), made from a single panel which will then be folded into a purse shape. All the pieces are silk, with one very irritating exception – that’s another story – and most of the fabrics are solid color. One patch, however, was made from a particularly modern, particularly abstract necktie. Selecting the proper embellishment for this piece was quite a dilemma. I thought about crosshatching the entire patch with black thread, with a bead at each junction, but that didn’t really do anything for me. Inspiration came in the form of these cute little brads, with little words or sayings on them. bradsonsilk2.jpgInterspersed between them are a few smaller ones with a brushed finish. For those unfamiliar with brads, they’ve been around for years in the form of little brass button type things that kids use in elementary school to put moving hands on their construction paper clocks. Recently they’ve become very popular with the scrapbooking set, of which I’m not a member. The backs have two pointed prongs which meet together at the center of the back of the brad. The two prongs are pushed through the construction paper, or in this case fabric, and then are separated and pressed flat against the back side of the project.

This being my first use of them, I learned a couple of things right off the bat. The fabric in this project is silk, and using the brad itself to push the prongs through the silk and foundation muslin could easily result in some pulled threads. After the first one, I used the tips of very sharp pair of scissors to make a pilot hole. This was really only an issue with the three larger ones, the points on the smaller ones were fine enough not to cause a problem. Also, it might not be a bad idea to use a bit of stabilizer behind the brads, just to give the fabric a bit more heft.

The first thing my daughter asked when I showed it to her was, “will there be any embroidery in between?” The answer is no, I like it just the way it is, and in this example, I think the minimalist approach works just fine. Besides, the fact that I couldn’t come up with any good embroidery ideas was the reason I got the brads out in the first place.

Until next time…

One Response to Brad, who’s brad?

  1. Charlene says:

    I’ve looked and looked at these things, thinking they were cute, but wondering if they would have a purpose in my stash. Thanks for the ideas – they’re cute as can be!

Leave a Reply

